Have a Daily Creative Practice!

PencilsEdited

Daily creativity helps engage your mind, make you think outside the box, and can be key for stress relief. Many artists have a daily creative practice – just like any skill, if you don’t use it, you lose it.

There are two main components to my daily creative practice: draw and move.

Every day I force myself to draw. Even if I’m not inspired or tired, I force myself to sketch every day. This helps me maintain technical skills and the discipline necessary to pursue my craft. Oftentimes, I have looked back on the forced sketches and seen glimpses of a good idea, or a lesson in what NOT to do. Sometimes I use this time to work out compositions, experiment with different mediums, or study a different subject.

The second part of my daily practice is to move. I set aside time every day to put down the pencil, step away from the studio and exercise. Whether it’s going for a walk, a bike ride, or hitting the gym. This is when I can clear my mind and loosen the cramps from hovering over the drawing table. When I get stuck on a project or feel my concentration drift, that’s the best time for me to step away from the easel. By the time I take a shower and return to the studio, I feel refreshed and energized.

I guess they seem contradictory. The first practice forces me to go to the studio and the second sends me away from the studio. But really they go hand in hand; drawing and moving give my creative practice structure and keep my mind engaged.

Leave a Reply

